In partnership with CBSSports.com
The largest and most active MSU Spartans board on the web
The place to ask questions to SpartanTailgate's recruiting experts
"The Duff" is dedicated to Michigan State football recruiting discussion
"The Bres" is dedicated to Michigan State basketball recruiting discussion
This is your pulpit to preach to the masses about everything from politics to religion
The place to buy, trade or sell Michigan State tickets
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
Now that you mention it, I don't think Dakich like the call, but conceded it was the right call. Still, he threw Tirico's "different set of rules" line back in his face.
You're gonna see what you wanna see. I didn't catch a replay of the Dawson thing since I was at the game, but one of my friends said it looked completely accidental.
We won, guys. By a lot. We don't have to make fake controversy.
I was sitting behind the basket. Appling looked to jump sideways and maybe even a little bit of a fadeaway. I think he definitely initiated the contact and caught Burke off guard.
I can't say what Burke was doing/thinking but it looks like he was headed towards the basket and then ducked? I really don't think there was malicious intent by Burke...but I hate Michigan so I'll agree with the OP.
This post was edited by Clive Bixby 17 months ago
Happens all the time. Not a foul. Appling did a nice job trying to sell it and, not surprisingly, some of you are buying. Great hustle to draw the charge on the next play.
I must be crazy to be in a loony bin like this.
The PUNCH?! Really?
Because those charge calls are weak as shit. If it went against us I'd be irate. I'm just disapproving since it went our way.
Marriage is like flying with kids, if the flight had 500 connections, never ended, Ted Striker were your pilot and you ate the fish.
I look forward to seeing you tonight Mr. Bixby. Not as much as Gloria's Cans on my new HDTV but... close.
Not even close to a cheap shot by Burke hahaa the dumb is strong with this thread. I thought a foul could've been called on the shot, but the ref made up for it on making the charge call on Burke seconds later. Great awareness by Keith all around.
If the roles were reversed.
Could not agree more. That is a garbage call and it drives me nuts when it gets called on us. That being said, I will take it because it does get called on us. I just want all charging rules revamped.
It was not a foul on Burke - Appling was the instigator in the first part of the play. As for the charge - shitty call. Appling leaned into him and put on an academy award performance. If Appling doesn't lean into Burke, Burke may have avoided contact all together. That should've been a block. As for the elbow to Dawson, I can't see how anyone could possibly even say that it was anything but accidental. Some of you guys are complete homers.
Ball don't lie.
sick of charging calls gone wild .... obviously with special venom toward the under the basket variety. Its been said, but it MUST stop.... just get rid of the call unless its a blatant car crash.
Appling jump back and sideways trying to draw a Kalin Lucas special.
The play that should be getting all this attention is McFairy's slap to Dawson. There was absolutely no reason for him to be slapping down like that and that hard.
would be a good comparison if Burke wasn't moving as Appling went up.
I hate those charging calls more than anybody, but "by rule" that was a good call. I'd like to see that taken out of the game, but nobody has more charges than us so if they're giving it might as well take it.
Pure make up call for not calling Burke for the cheap shot in the first place and yes, it was cheap: not 'attempt of murder' but a pussy move that's beneath his annointed royal ass. App got the charge call on him because ref knew he fucked up....simple make up call: usually seen in hockey more than hoops
So it's OK to foul a jumpshooter if you didn't intend to? I don't think intent has anything to do with it. By rule, hitting an airborne jumpshooter is a foul, right?
(If someone could link to the relevant part of the rulebook that would be awesome!)
Draymond Green, Magic Johnson, and Oscar Robertson are the only players to have two triple-doubles in the NCAA Tournament.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports